Getting my classroom ready

Under our contract, teachers need to work one day before the start of school to set up their classrooms. I can never get my room ready in less than about three days, so it always seems to set me up to begin in tired mode, already overworked. I never considered myself to be an overachiever, but in recent years I have begun to rethink that possibility. I bring a lot of energy to my job, and go home exhausted most days. I need to think about where the energy will go after next June!

But this year, as I pulled out the portfolios of posters and pondered which ones to display for this last time, it occurred to me that I need to remember — I want to remember — the things I think about and process as I ready myself for this huge life change that is just around the corner.

I reorganized the shelves, rearranged the furniture, played my favorite music, and enjoyed the ritual of preparation for the new school year. I never thought of it as a ritual before, but that’s exactly what it is. And it is good. I will be ready when the kids arrive.

About harleywoman50

I retired from teaching in June 2011, and now am enjoying the good things I never had time to do before: traveling, writing, and creative arts. I also work as an educational consultant specializing in professional development for teachers; in this capacity I teach educators about their personalities using the MBTI (Myers-Briggs Type Instrument). I teach a course on how to differentiate instruction using type in the classroom, and several other workshops. Life is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting my classroom ready

  1. Nancy Weber says:

    I’m looking forward to “watching” from the sidelines this year as you share your experience. I’m an asst principal at Watertown Middle School in Watertown, SD. My returning this year also comes with a new awareness of what happens in this place I refer to as my home away from home. I had a two month hospital stay last fall and subsequent four months away from “my kids” at WMS. There’s a different feel to each day for me this year, too. The preparation came with more excitement and anticipation than years before it. I always struggle with sleep the night before kids arrive. This year, I noticed it even more than previous years. As a former middle school reading teacher and language arts teacher myself, I look forward to sharing your last year. 🙂 Thanks for writing.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

